Sunday, February 13, 2011

My Soul To Take... Well you took it Wes Craven. Thanks a lot

     
What it with this poster? Seriously?
So, after a very lovely discussion on modern horror I decided to start a movie review blog to complain to the world. And my very first review will be the movie that inspired me to take this leap, My Soul To Take.
Now don't get me wrong, I'm off-my-meds happy that there's a slasher movie out in todays era of torture porn and supernatural style horror. And I was beyond excited for this movie knowing that it was a Wes Craven movie. With my crazy nerd schedule being filled, the minute I got the chance I watched it. So there I was, 10:30 at night, all the lights off, ready to watch people get violently killed.
The movie starts out with the most decent gore you'll get the entire movie. It's actually pretty intense and fun to watch, so you'd figure it set the tone for the rest, right?
Er, no. It was basically a bunch of introductions that won't matter til later.


BE GOOD

The middle of the film was like watching a really bad teen movie. There was the socially awkward main boy, the best friend, the token minority, the beautiful girl, the mean girl, the religious chick, and the jerk jock. Their interactions were uninteresting and took up too much time. Then when the killing really started it happened too quickly. The climax was a confusing blur. The "twist" at the end was so incredibly predictable and it managed to be confusing as hell  at the same time. The whole plot didn't turn out to make much sense in the end and i felt as if there may have been something completely left out of the movie that explained everything.
There was also some of the WORST kill scenes I've seen in years. If you want a gore filled fun ride of a horror movie this is not for you.

This is what you get for being blonde in a horror movie.

So the lesson here? If you're a hardcore slasher fan, watch it for kicks. But if you're not don't waste your time and complain about Wes Craven afterwards. Here's hoping Scream 4 (*dies of excitement*)  will be much, much better.

-Lakota ThePerpetuallyAnnoyed

No comments:

Post a Comment